Towards October

I’m back, again.

I think I’m really back, now.

Been thinking about how I was going to explain being gone.

Almost two years is a long time.

It started as an innocent but well needed pause at the 15-not-20 year mark, October 2021.

Time hit me hard. Levelled me. 15 years passed and I was still standing, but exactly in the same emotional spot, same stale state, doing the same thing. I just needed to break it all – the pattern, the rote, the roots, the acidulous acceptance. Well due.

Self-assured, based on the belief that 14 years published without missing a beat, not one single week, could be paused. I figured two and a half months; I’d fire back up in January 2022.

*

September 2023; it’s best to go with brevity.

Following four 2022 surgeries, halfway toward, COVID tore me apart right before Christmas. Wrecked me. Thoroughly.

Anyway, it’s all just weak mind wandering now, a slow-roll streaming 1/2-inch surface view belying the curious currents under that bridge over troubled.

As for regularity; unguaranteed.

As for off-beat irregularity; yeah, you can count on me for that, for sure.

sincerely, knabbler.

lamp shade & shadow, night mode, samsung s21 ultra. 2021 10 29, credit: knabbler

Leave a comment