Stopping Short (continued)

Stuffed into a corner behind the bathroom door was a used pair of tighty whities. “Geez,” Jeff rolled his eyes, it’s just underwear.”

“It’s used underwear – dirty underwear!” As he leaned down to pick them up, I squealed, again. “Don’t touch those with your bare hands!” I grabbed the tissue box from the little table by the door and ran back. “Here,” I said. “For Pete’s sake, use these!”

Jeff pulled a handful of tissues, retrieved the dirty laundry from the floor. Just as he was about to re-home them in the trash, he dropped them. I learned a new phrase when Jeff declared, “Eew! Racing stripes!” “Racing stripes?” I had to ask, which made Jeff laugh. “You’ve never heard that? Do you wanna see?” he asked.

“What!? No, I don’t want to see,” I said even more grossed out. “And,” I pointed at his chest, “if you had closed the door you would have been the one to discover them and I’d still know nothing about stripes!”

“You want to change rooms again, don’t you?” he sighed.

“No,” I said.  “I’m already changed and tired, but you should call the front desk and tell them about this.”

After the phone call, Jeff revealed that our rate had been lowered 20% due to our troubles. “You know,” he pondered jokingly, “I bet if we took those with us, we could get discount rates at every hotel.” “We are not taking them with us!” I answered as I lay down on top of the bedspread. “No way. No how.”

“You gonna sleep on top of the bed stuff?” Jeff stared down at me.  “I don’t know what’s on those sheets,” I reasoned. “You’re wearing full flannel pajamas,” he reasoned right back. “It’s not like you’re going to sleep naked!” he exclaimed. As I mentioned – flannel – not so romantic.

When morning came, we were up early and ready to get on our way. At the check-out counter, Jeff mentioned the underwear again and then added that discovery was after we’d already changed rooms once. We’d been too tired to move again. “Heck of a way to start your honeymoon,” he chuckled. Jeff was reluctant to mention the discount. So I did, telling the night manager had indicated he would take 20%.

The morning manager was appalled. “20%!” Shaking his head, he said, “20% isn’t enough. I’m taking off 50%.” Jeff said that wasn’t necessary. We didn’t want him to get in trouble for not doing what the night manager had said, but the morning man insisted. We thanked him profusely.

After stashing our luggage in the trunk, I headed for the passenger side.

Jeff was about to open the driver’s side door when he stopped short. With widened eyes, he pointed at me over the top of our little Neon.

“You know…” he started in his most mischievous voice. “50% off!? I knew we shoulda taken ‘em with us.”

“You didn’t,” I gasped, horrified at the thought.

“No,” he grinned. “I didn’t, but…. I have underwear and I could always…”

I stopped him short with raised “whoa” hand, a demanding verbal “stop” and a stern look.

“Get in the car.” I said, “just… get in the car…”

Quote for the Week:

2016-10-25-the-decency-equation-jakorte

Enjoy This Week’s Discovery Links:

Pinconning: A Little Bit About

Pinconning: Say Cheese!

Be a Good Customer: 16 Ways to Not Be a Jerk

2 comments on “Stopping Short (continued)

  1. I great read. I was totally hooked. Thanks for making me smile 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

