A year under

I999: a year under our belt.

I moved to a larger, less expensive (go figure) apartment to save some money and accommodate weekends with Jeff.  Most of the time, he would arrive on Friday evening and stay until Sunday afternoon. One Friday, he was late. So, after waiting about an hour, I decided to page him.

He had a shoe-box size work cell-phone, used only for work, so I did not have that number. Non-work related outgoing and incoming charges were an expensive responsibility for the employee, so I likely wouldn’t have gone that rout, anyway.

I figured he might have decided on a nap before driving up, in which case I would wake him, and he would get on the giddy-up. It’d happened before.

I didn’t hear back from Jeff, so I paged him again about 15 minutes later.

I didn’t get a call back, but five minutes or so later, there was a knock on my door. It was Jeff, but he wasn’t looking good. He was pale and sweating and looked like he’d just been through something horrible and come out the other side in one piece, but shaken.

“I could use a glass of water,” he said. I went for the glass.

He came in dropped his overnight bag, and plopped down on the couch. Staring at the floor, he said, “I nearly had a heart attack…”

“I got your page,” he said, before he drank the entire glass of water, and sat back wiping his brow.

“I was really tired driving up here.  Long day.” Jeff explained.

“When my pager went off, it sort of woke me up, but not really. I wasn’t sure where I was or what was going on, but I saw a huge tree in front of me and realized I was going to smash into it, so I screamed and slammed on the breaks.”

I sat there, wide-eyed.

“When I was done screaming, and hadn’t hit anything, I realized that the truck was running, but I was in ‘Park.’ In your parking lot. In front of a tree.”

“Wait, what?” I asked. “You were here?”

“Yeah,” he said, looking up at me, “for about an hour.”

“Holy cow ploppings,” I said, (although I probably used a real curse.)  “Do you need to go lie down?”

“No,” he laughed, more like his regular self. “I’m wide awake now!”

In our first year together, I’d learned that Jeff could fall asleep anywhere. At a race track, in a movie theatre, sitting on my couch, while talking on the phone, using ICQ, in the break-room at work waiting for on-call calls on weekends.

I never thought about him falling asleep at the wheel, so I asked him if that had ever had happened. He said it hadn’t, but that was because many times he’d just pull over and catch a 20 minute nap at a gas station or market parking lot.

Made sense to me.

By the time we’d finished dinner, Jeff was not-silently laughing at himself, and had another funny story to share.

Quote for the Week:

2016 02 02 situation not as it seems jakorte

Enjoy This Week’s Discovery Links:

20 minutes: https://sleepfoundation.org/sleep-topics/napping

20 minutes:  https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=R-t5N-YgS-0

20 minutes:  http://www.shape.com/fitness/videos/workout-video-20-minute-metabolism-booster

 

 

Leave a Reply

