Spring Appreciative

In the spirit of never having missed a single week’s post in almost eight years, I am offering this one up a little early for good reason. Things change.

Spring has sprung from desolate browns to attention grabbing greens. It’s not possible to pinpoint an exact moment. Especially, since there wasn’t one; things just changed.

I could probably shave another 3 minutes and 30 seconds off my three-mile if I stopped stopping to snap greedy pictures of other peoples’ efforts. I feel like a creep, but new growth is newly fascinating.

The yellows are crisper, the reds run deeper, oranges out-put neon, wispy clouds seem whiter-than-white: every shade of pink pops and the sky is a clearer blue. Pristine, unravished by insects or shriveled by the sun; it all feels so… new. Like something’s changed.

I want to capture these beautful microcosmic worlds; strangely struck by the wonder of it all. Somehow, my camera-eye images are mostly (oddly) perfect; though I can barely see the screen. Sometimes, I can’t see it at all, but click away blindly anyway. Some of my most remarkable shots have been I-hope-I’m-getting-it gambles. Some of my worst have been ardent studies in perceived light perfection and complete focal clarity.

I find no abandonment in this randomness; only surprises
God speaks, and wholly appreciative, I confess.
Something has definitely changed.

Quote for the week:

Song of Solomon 2:11-12 ESV For behold, the winter is past; the rain is over and gone. The flowers appear on the earth, the time of singing has come, and the voice of the turtledove is heard in our land.
.
Enjoy this week’s discovery links:

Darkroom vs Digital:  http://desktoppub.about.com/od/scanninggraphics/a/dig_trad_photos.htm

No-Fuss Garden Plans: http://www.bhg.com/gardening/plans/easy/15-no-fuss-garden-plans/

Stress Break Mmm: http://stress.about.com/od/lowstresslifestyle/a/selfcare.htm.

20140511_081539

Leave a Reply

