Because, Vortex.

I’m a little obsessed with the vortex phenomenon.

It’s been record breaking cold here in Michigan. On a day of -14, with a windchill of -41 , it’s been said you could cut your breath and use it to build an igloo. One New Jersey family actually did build an igloo; a very colorful one.

Polar Vortex theories and arguments have been coming from all sides of science and political communities, as well as some misinformed panic-minded weather-ers. Global warming, earth-tilting, oxygen-sucking garbage piles; believe me, I am concerned. My creative clues for Google and Good Search haven’t yielded anything more than light, snowy fluff. I’m after facts, so I try again, and again, entering hint-words, hoping for quantitative scientific data.

In the process, I run straight into a startling distraction. My search-winds take a slightly different turn. I spin off-course, traveling ferociously down an altered path I would not have seen or followed otherwise.Polar Vortex theories and arguments have been coming from all sides of science and political communities, as well as some misinformed panic-minded weather-ers. Global warming, earth-tilting, oxygen-sucking garbage piles; believe me, I am concerned. My creative clues for Google and Good Search haven’t yielded anything more than light, snowy fluff. I’m after facts, so I try again, and again, entering hint-words, hoping for quantitative scientific data.

Formative early scholastic years, taught me formal speech, formal grammar, and informal cursive writing.

I was lead to believe, “don’t” was considered lazy slang for “do not.” Same was true for isn’t, wasn’t, hasn’t, wouldn’t, shouldn’t, couldn’t, etc.

I understand technology, and texting are altering language standards. The desire to communicate succinctly, in as little time, space and number of characters as possible, is overtaking grammar, and obliterating punctuation.

Slang is slang. Every generation claims their own unique come-and-go verbiage niche. The very way some words trend, change their meaning. In 2006, I playfully developed the probable theory of  linguistic obesity. (Explorable link below.)

The 2013 Word of the Year, according to The American Dialect Society, is “because.” Merriam Webster mentions the first known use of “because” occurred somewhere in the 14th century. What’s the deal with that? Well, here it is folks: The word “because” is no longer a precursor; it no longer has to be followed by a clause. Skip straight to the noun.

Let me clarify. The answer to the question, “Why was Johnny suspended?” is no longer “Johnny was suspended because he broke the rules.” The question also no longer needs to be answered, “Because of the rules.” Truly. The new supposed-standard shortened answer is acceptable, but still appallingly.

“Why was Johnny suspended?”

“Because, rules.”

I sigh, hit the back button, and resume my stubborn search. Too easily, “The Vortex Sedona,” calls out my curiosity.

Sedona, Arizona is purported to be home to numerous vortex sites. While based on flowing theories of wind and movement, the angle is  energy related and completely different. Photos of twisted Juniper trees shaped by invisible, subtle, constant, concentrated energy-clones are remarkable.

I’m fascinated by the physics of this, and intrigued by these thoughts:

Perhaps, I have not been spinning in place, at all.

Perhaps, being rooted to one spot isn’t a deterrent to change.

Perhaps, real growth does not only consist of “up” or “over.”

Perhaps, gently and consistently, turned and shaped, more slowly than I can comprehend…

Perhaps,  I have long stood in a spiraling, spiritual, reshaping vortex; under the watchful eye of GOD.

.

Regarding the Polar Vortex, and Word of the Year for 2013: though, I do not care for either, I surely will adapt.

 Regarding Sedona: an extended stay is now on my bucket-list.

 Because, Vortex.

_____________________________________________________

Quote for the week:

“May you have warmth in your igloo, oil in your lamp, and peace in your heart” ~  Eskimo Proverb

Enjoy this week’s  discovery links:

NJ Gem Igloo: http://news.yahoo.com/gem-igloo-build-ice-172118691.html

The Vortex Sedona: http://www.visitsedona.com/article/213

Vortex Science: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/2014_North_American_cold_wave

Leave a Reply

